Koloman Moser (1868-1918)

Koloman Moser (1868-1918)

Prior to business school, in 1885, he passed the entrance exam at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna without having informed his parents.

On the recommendation of his teacher Trenkwald, Moser was hired as an art teacher for children of Archduke Karl-Ludwig Wartholz castle in Reichenau an der Rax. It is from this time that his friendship with Carl Otto Czeschka, to whom he transmitted the place of professor dessin.De 1892 to 1897, was a member of Koloman Siebener Club, which later left the movement of the Secession Viennese.

In 1897 he was a founding member of the Vienna Secession. In 1903, Josef Hoffmann and Moser founded with the industrialist Fritz Wärndorfer the Wiener Werkstätte. The aim was to promote more artistic crafts that industrial production.

He died in 1918 of cancer of the larynx. He was buried on October 21 next to the cemetery in Hietzing. In his honor, a street was named after him in 1969 in Donaustadt. In 1989, a piece of 500 Schilling was struck with his portrait. On the front of his apartment in Landstrasse is a commemorative plaque.

Koloman Moser was one of the most important artists of Vienna around 1900. It is part of the leading representatives of Art Nouveau. His painting was first marked by impressionism before submitting to the influence of Ferdinand Hodler. Moser exercised many artistic trades. He realized decorative large-scale projects. The largest collection of his works, including many paintings and objects, is at the Leopold Museum in Vienna. Much of the collection is displayed in the permanent exhibition Wien 1900. In addition, the library and art collection of magazines of the Museum of Applied Arts in Vienna has almost 700 drawings Moser, stored in a database 2008 and awarded with the information magazine Ver Sacrum and Jungendschatz deutscher Dichtung.

KolomanMoser-ALB1.jpg

Koloman Moser (1868-1918)

Koloman Moser (1868-1918)

Auparavant en école de commerce , en 1885, il réussit l’examen d’entrée à l’académie des beaux-arts de Vienne sans en avoir averti ses parents.

Sur la recommandation de son professeur Trenkwald, Moser fut engagé comme professeur de dessin des enfants de l’archiduc Karl-Ludwig au château Wartholz à Reichenau an der Rax. C’est de cette époque que date son amitié avec Carl Otto Czeschka, à qui il transmit la place de professeur de dessin.De 1892 à 1897, Koloman fut membre du Siebener-Club, d’où partit plus tard le mouvement de la Sécession viennoise.

En 1897, il fut membre fondateur de la Sécession viennoise. En 1903, Josef Hoffmann fonda avec Moser et l’industriel Fritz Wärndorfer les Wiener Werkstätte. Le but était de favoriser l’artisanat artistique plus que la production industrielle.

Il mourut en 1918 d’un cancer du larynx. Il fut enterré le 21 octobre suivant au cimetière de Hietzing. En son honneur, une rue fut baptisée de son nom en 1969 à Donaustadt. En 1989, une pièce de 500 Schilling fut frappée avec son portrait. Sur la façade de son appartement à Landstrasse se trouve une plaque commémorative.

Koloman Moser était un des artistes les plus importants de Vienne autour de 1900. Il fait partie des principaux représentants de l’Art nouveau. Sa peinture fut d’abord marquée par l’impressionnisme avant de se soumettre à l’influence de Ferdinand Hodler. Moser exerça de nombreux métiers artistiques. Il réalisa des projets décoratifs de grande envergure. La plus grande collection de ses œuvres, dont de nombreux tableaux et objets, se trouve au Leopold Museum de Vienne. Une grande partie de cette collection est montrée dans l’exposition permanente Wien 1900. De plus, la bibliothèque et collection de magazines d’arts du Musée des arts appliqués de Vienne possède près de 700 dessins de Moser, enregistrés dans une base de données en 2008 et accordés avec les informations des magazines Ver Sacrum et Jungendschatz deutscher Dichtung.

KolomanMoser-ALB1.jpg
Koloman-Moser-Vitrine-ALB-Antiquites-mail1.jpg